New Year’s Resolutions

Five hours, twenty minutes and thirty seconds to New Year. Good bye 2011. Hello 2012. Goodbye, old Samantha. Watch out, world, here comes the new me.

“Coming ?” A voice called out from my dorm room door.

I shook my head. “Nope.” Nat stared at me curiously.

I got up. “I’m serious. I’m not going to the party.” I opened the drawers looking for Scotch-tape. I fished out the paper I had been writing on and looked around my side of the room to find the best spot to stick it on.

Nat threw herself down on her bed. “And why would you want to do that ?”

“Do what ?” My eyes wandered around the walls to the cabinet above my bed. Where should I tack it on ?

Nat sighed. “Miss the party !”

“Oh, that. I just don’t feel like going,” I answered in a flat one. “I figured I’m done with parties. I’ve been partying since… as long as I can remember. So, I guess it’s time to do some serious stuff.”

“What serious stuff, exactly ?”

“You know, studying, doing papers, reading books—textbooks, I mean. I decided that the New Year is the perfect moment to start transforming myself into a better person. Look !” I showed Nat my resolutions paper.

Nat took it from my hand, read it… and burst into laughter.

“What ? What’s wrong with my resolutions ?”

After about ten seconds or so, Nat stopped laughing and wiped her tears. “Let me get this straight… Wait ! Let me read your so-called resolutions to you. No more parties, a 3.5 GPA, read one thick book a week, join a reading club discussion, go to the library three times a week… Sam, sam, were you sober when you wrote this ? you really want to do these things ?”

“Yes! And I could use a little support from my best friend.”

“I do support you, Sam. I really do. But, don’t you think this is too much? You’re turning from Sam the partygoer into Sam the geek. Are you sure you want to do that? I mean, aren’t you supposed to start with little things like planting a tree, not littering, or tidying up your bed every day or something?”

“But this is a resolution. What you just mentioned are just little things. Resolutions are big issues. They’re supposed to make you a better individual. There’s nothing wrong with wanting to get straight A’s, or reading more books, or submitting your papers on time, or not partying. There’s more to life than just parties and music. It’s about doing serious things and achieving your goals and dreams for the bettermen of yourself and mankind.”

Nat stared at me in disbelief. “What in the world has gotten into you?”

I sighed. “Well, I guess this whole New Year thing has made me realize what kind of person I want to be next year.”

Nat scratched her head. “Well, …Ok, …whatever. I’ll see you the day after tomorrow, then. We’re going to Max’s villa up on the hill and will be back Tuesday morning for Professor Ellis’s class. That dude’s killing us. A day after New Year and he wants to give us a pop quiz. What a party pooper!”

“Oh! Which reminds me, I have to review all of the five chapters for the quiz.”

Nat smiled and frowned at the same time. “Whatever. Ok, bye Sam…or whoever you are in my best friend’s body.”

Seconds later, the dormitory was totally silent. Everybody was out to celebrate New Year’s eve. It was so quiet.

Should i go to the party? I mean,… but no, no, no. Keep it together, Sam. You’re about to transform yourself into the new you.

I looked at my written resolutions and was determined to say goodbye to the old me. I opened a textbook and started reading.

“SAMANTHA! WAKE UP!”

I heard banging at the door. Groping my way towards it, I finally managed to turn the key to open it. Apparently, I had left the key in the door and Nat could not unlock it from the outside.

“DO YOU KNOW WHAT TIME IT IS?” Nat was yelling in my face. She quickly made for the wardrobe to change he clothes while i watched. “HEY! Resolution girl, do you know what day it is?” she snapped.

“New year?” I replied, yawning. I was still so sleepy.

Grabbing her books and backpack, Nat turned to look at me—well, glare at me, to be more precise. “It’s Tuesday morning! Thirty minutes to Prof Ellis’s quiz! Professor Ellis? Tuesday? Quiz? Hellooo, anybody there?”

And then it all came back to me. “Damn!”

I ran to the bathroom, washed my face, and changed my clothes.

“What time did you go to sleep anyway?”

“I spent New Year’s eve studying until noon on New Year’s day. I must have overslept.”

“Oh, of course. You have this resolution to achieve your goals and dreams.”

“My resolutions,” I mumbled. I looked at the paper I wrote my resolutions on, still attached to the door.

“Uh-huh. Well, I’ve got news for you, Miss ‘i want to be better this year for the betterment of myself and mankind.’ Instead of having these great thoughts of becoming the next Einstein, you might as well start with ‘WAKE UP ON TIME’ and ‘DON’T LEAVE THE KEY IN THE DOOR’ before you read thick textbooks and visit the library three times a week!”

Nat slammed the door shut. It was so hard that my resolution paper fell off it.

Sumber : Majalah CnS Lia

 

Nama   : Tekla Shintauli Lorentina

Npm    : 27211068

Kelas   : 2EB01

Leave a Reply

